7: The Eagle

Posted: Thursday, May 29th, 2014
⇦ Previous Post Next Post ⇨

About Four Faces of Jesus Series

Join Martha as she delves deeper into the four symbols of Christ's being, given to us that we may better glimpse the fascinating mystery that is Jesus.


The wonder of Jesus is His holy variety.  He was many sided, multi-faceted.  No man ever lived in such creative richness.  To know Him is to stretch around His seeming contradictions…

  • Gentle and shocking.
  • Tender and terrible.
  • Remote and engaged.
  • Knowable and unpredictable.

No one like Him, there has never been one so full, so real, and yet… so strange.

John the Beloved saw Christ as God, very God.  His Gospel reveals Jesus in His divinity.  The other gospels end with recognition of the Son of God.  The book of John begins from another beginning.  The Very Beginning.  Before humanity.  Before creation.  Jesus as God… with God!  Before!

In the beginning was the Word, 
and the Word was with God, 
and the Word was God.
John 1:1 NASB

John gives us a face of Christ that can be known by the eagle.  As the eagle soars on the current of winds, Jesus was carried by the wind of the Holy Spirit, ever graceful in His effortless dignity.

“The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it,
but do not know where it comes from or where it is going;
so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”
John 3:8 NASB

The eagle soars alone.

The great mystery of Jesus was His secret sonship with the Father… His nights alone, His unseen worship.  These are hidden and untold, left to our pursuit of the same, to discover His solitude as God, with God.  From His obscure beginning to His auspicious end, He was ever… ultimately alone.  Keeping His own counsel and His profound secrets, subject to no one but His Father.

Behold an hour is coming and has already come,
for you to be scattered, each to his own home
and to leave Me alone; and yet I am not alone,
because the Father is with Me.
John 16:32 NASB

Copyright © 2002 Martha Kilpatrick, Four Faces of Jesus

Other Articles in Four Faces of Jesus Series

Never Miss a Post!